call for papers
author info
submit papers
Accommodations spacer
past conferences
contact us

Conference Venue:
Newport Marriott
25 America's Cup Avenue
Newport, Rhode Island,
02840, USA
Phone: +1-401-849-1000

Important Deadlines:

Submission Deadline:
April 15, 2017
April 22, 2017
April 29, 2017

Acceptance Notification:
May 15, 2017
May 31, 2017

Final Version Due:
June 10, 2017

Early Registration:
June 10, 2017

July 25-26, 2017



  Day One

08:00 - 08:45


08:45 - 09:00

Welcome and intro - Csaba Andras Moritz

09:00 - 10:00

Keynote - Dan Hammerstrom

10:00 - 10:15

Coffee break


Session 1: Spintronic I

10:15 - 10:45

A novel SRAM - STT-MRAM hybrid cache implementation improving cache performance. Guillaume Patrigeon, Sophiane Senni, Lionel Torres, Odilia Coi and Pascal Benoit.

10:45 - 11:15

Compact Modeling of High Spin Transfer Torque Efficiency Double-Barrier Magnetic Tunnel Junction. Guanda Wang, Yue Zhang, Zhizhong Zhang, Jiang Nan, Zhenyi Zheng, Yu Wang, Lang Zeng, Youguang Zhang and Weisheng Zhao.

11:15 Session 2: Neural networks I
11:15 - 11:35

SkyNet: Memristor-based 3D IC for Artificial Neural Networks. Sachin Bhat, Sourabh Kulkarni, Jiajun Shi, Mingyu Li and Csaba Andras Moritz.

11:35 - 11:55

Mixing Circuit based on Neural Associative Memories and Nanoelectronic 1S1R Cells. Arne Heittmann and Tobias G. Noll.

11:55 - 12:15

On-chip Reservoir Computing Inspired Learning System built with Analog Nanosynapses. Christopher H Bennett, Damien Querlioz and Jacques Olivier-Klein.

12:15 - 13:00


13:00 - 13:30

Session 3: Poster Pitch

Design and Operational Assessment of an Intra-Cell Hybrid L2 Cache. Fabrizio Lombardi, Weiqiang Liu, Jie Han and Linbin Chen.

L^3EP: Low Latency, Low Energy Program-and-Verify for Triple-Level Cell Phase Change Memory. Ali Alsuwaiyan and Kartik Mohanram.

Transient Model with Interchangeability for Dual-Gate Ambipolar CNTFET Logic Design. Xuan Hu and Joseph S. Friedman.

A Compact 8-bit Adder Design using In-Memory Memristive Computing: Towards Solving the Feynman Grand Challenge. Sumit Kumar Jha, Sunny Raj and Dwaipayan Chakraborty.

Reconfigurable Processing In Memory Architecture based on Spin Orbit Torque MRAM. Liang Chang, Zhaohao Wang, Youguang Zhang and Weisheng Zhao.

Automated Synthesis of Compact Multiplier Circuits for in-Memory Computing using ROBDDs. Amad Ul Hassen, Sumit Kumar Jha and Dwaipayan Chakraborty.

Linear Regression based Multi-State Logic Decomposition Approach for Efficient Hardware Implementation. Wafi Danesh and Mostafizur Rahman.

VerilogA Compact Model of a ME-MTJ Based XNOR/NOR Gate. Nishtha Sharma, Andrew Marshall and Jonathan Bird.

13:30 - 14:30 Poster Session
14:30 Session 4: Concept papers I
14:30 - 14:45

Proposal for Novel Magnetic Memory Device with Spin Momentum Locking Materials. Xiaowan Qin, Lang Zeng, Tianqi Gao, Deming Zhang, Mingzhi Long, Youguang Zhang and Weisheng Zhao.

14:45 - 15:00 Frequency Modulation of Spin Torque Nano Oscillator with Voltage Controlled Magnetic Anisotropy Effect. Zuodong Zhang, Lang Zeng, Tianqi Gao, Deming Zhang, Xiaowan Qin, Mingzhi Long, Youguang Zhang, Haiming Yu and Weisheng Zhao.
15:00 - 15:15 Memcapacitive Reservoir Computing. Dat Tran and Christof Teuscher.
15:15 - 15:30 CASPER - Configurable Design Space Exploration of Programmable Architectures for Machine Learning using Beyond Moore Devices. Dilip Vasudevan, George Michelogiannakis and David Donofrio.
15:30 - 15:45 Break
15:45 Session 5: Devices and circuits I
15:45 - 16:05 AOI-Based Data-Centric Circuits for Near-Memory Processing. Fabrizio Lombardi and Salin Junsangsri.
16:05 - 16:25 Low Cost Multi-Error Correction for 3D Polyhedral Memories. Mihai Lefter, Thomas Marconi, George R. Voicu and Sorin Cotofana.
16:25 - 16:45 Low-Power Multiplexer Designs Using Three-Independent-Gate Field Effect Transistors. Edouard Giacomin, Jorge Romero Gonzalez and Pierre Emmanuel Gaillardon.
Conference dinner
  Day Two
09:00 Session 6: Spintronic II
09:00 - 09:30

A Logic-in-Memory Design with 3-Terminal Magnetic Tunnel Junction Function Evaluators for Convolutional Neural Networks. Sumit Dutta, Saima Siddiqui, Felix Büttner, Luqiao Liu, Caroline Ross and Marc Baldo.

09:30 - 10:00

High Performance and Energy-Efficient In-Memory Computing Architecture based on SOT-MRAM. Zhezhi He, Shaahin Angizi, Farhana Parveen and Deliang Fan.

10:00 - 10:15

Polymorphic Spintronic Logic Gates for Hardware Security Primitives – Device Design and Performance Benchmarking. Shaloo Rakheja and Nickvash Kani.

10:15 - 10:30


10:30 Session 7: Neural networks II
10:30 - 10:50 Fully-Connected Single-Layer STT-MTJ-based Spiking Neural Network under Process Variability. Elena Ioana Vatajelu and Lorena Anghel.
10:50 - 11:20 Non-Temporal Logic Performance of an Atomic Switch Network. Kelsey Scharnhorst, Walt Woods, Christof Teuscher, Adam Stieg and James Gimzewski.
11:20 - 11:50 Approximate Vector Matrix Multiplication Implementations for Neuromorphic Applications using Memristive Crossbars. Walt Woods and Christof Teuscher.
11:50 - 12:30 Lunch
12:30 Session 8: Concept papers II
12:30 - 12:45 Epsilon-greedy Strategy for Online Dicitionary Learning with Realistic Memristor Array Constriants. Fuxi Cai and Wei D. Lu.
12:45-13:00 Fine-Grained 3D Reconfigurable Computing Fabric with RRAM. Mingyu Li, Jiajun Shi, Sachin Bhat and Csaba Andras Moritz.
13:00-13:15 Hybrid Neural Network using Binary RRAM Devices. Mohammed Zidan, Yeonjoo Jeong and Wei Lu.
13:15-13:30 Naive Bayesian Inference of Handwritten Digits using a Memristive Associative Memory. Mohammad M.A. Taha and Christof Teuscher.

Session 9: Memories

13:30 - 14:00

Architecture, Design and Technology Guidelines for Crosspoint Memories. Alexandre Levisse, Pablo Royer, Bastien Giraud, Jean-Philippe Noel, Mathieu Moreau and Jean-Michel Portal.

14:00 - 14:30

Ultra High Density 3D SRAM Cell Design in Stacked Horizontal Nanowire (SN3D) Fabric. Naveen Kumar Macha, Sandeep Geedipally and Mostafizur Rahman.

14:30 - 14:45



Session 10: Devices and circuits II

14:45 - 15:15

Power-Delivery Network in 3D ICs: Monolithic 3D vs. Skybridge 3D CMOS. Jiajun Shi, Mingyu Li and Csaba Andras Moritz.

15:15 - 15:45

Energy Efficient Computation using Injection Locked Bias-Field Free Spin-Hall Nano-Oscillator Array with Shared Heavy Metal. Karthik Yogendra, Minsuk Koo and Kaushik Roy.

15:45 - 16:15

A self-calibrating sense amplifier fora true random number generator using hybrid FinFET-Straintronic MTJ. Sudipta Bhuin, Joseph Sweeney, Samuel Pagliarini, Ayan Biswas and Lawrence Pileggi.

16:05 - 16:10

Closing - Csaba Andras Moritz